Indico has been upgraded. It is back in production.

Workshop on Perspectives and Applications of Deep Learning for Accelerated Scientific Discovery at next generation X-ray and Neutron Sources

A3 (August Krogh Building )


August Krogh Building

Universitetsparken 13 2100 København Ø

Break-throughs in deep learning (DL) technology are revolutionising the amount, rate and nature of information that can be extracted from data, creating new opportunities to accelerate scientific discovery in ways that have never been imagined before.

The scientific information generated at large scale facilities, such as Synchrotrons, Free Electron Lasers and neutron sources, presents a novel and challenging platform to explore the boundaries of DL technology. Here both the volume of high quality scientific data as well as the high speed of experiments, specifically those that monitor and track fast real-time physical processes, place high demands on both state of the art instruments and software as well as in experimenters themselves. DL can potentially enhance the scientific value and insight that can be gained from experiments in these large-scale scientific infrastructures.

In this workshop we shall focus on two topical themes on DL Accelerated Discovery.

• The use of DL architectures to generate unbiased and objective models for analysis of scattering data from X-ray and neutron sources.

• The use of DL methods for optimising data collection protocols in real time and for discovering anomalies in experimental data and enhancing the efficiency of the scientific workflow.

These intersections of scientific discovery and DL science are unique and the workshop will explore potential research avenues to understand how to best develop these technologies to accelerate discovery using these facilities.

The program for the workshop will consist of plenary sessions followed by working groups, and final close-out. On Thursday the 26th, plenary seminars will review the state of the art in DL and how it is currently used in x-ray and neutron scattering experiments, as well as on the challenges that these experimental techniques face that can be addressed by DL. Afternoon working groups, led by a convener, will explore and report in how DL methods can become more generically applicable to a wide range of scattering experiments, including data analysis, bias-free modelling and optimization of experimental protocols.

On Friday, 27th, conveners will present the outcomes of the previous day’s working-groups and the meeting will close with a discussion and presentation of an overall summary. A tentative roadmap on how to make progress in the application of DL for Accelerated Scientific Discovery at next generation X-ray and Neutron Sources will also be proposed.

There is no registration fee for the workshop, but attendance is limited to 40 participants.

Looking very much forward to seeing you on September!



  • Abbas Ourmazd
  • Aleksandar Topic
  • Alexander Madsen
  • Alexander Schulz
  • Anders Dahl
  • Andreas Schreyer
  • Andrew Sazonov
  • Andy Sode Anker
  • Anouk Roudier
  • Björgvin Hjörvarsson
  • Celine Durniak
  • Changwoo Do
  • Changyong Lu
  • Chris Jacobsen
  • Christa Gall
  • Christian Igel
  • Christina Lioma
  • Daniel Franke
  • Dimitri Argyriou
  • Emil Rofors
  • Emil Thyge Skaaning Kjær
  • Esko Oksanen
  • Frank Heinrich
  • Gerald Kneller
  • Gitte Michelsen
  • Harald Reichert
  • Heloisa Bordallo
  • Ibon Bustinduy
  • Igor Gudich
  • Jakob Lass
  • Jan Thomsen
  • Jon Sporring
  • Jonathan Taylor
  • Keith Butler
  • Kenneth Skovhede
  • Kim Lefmann
  • Kirsten Marie Jensen
  • Lamar Moore
  • Lasse Sander Dreyer
  • Lingjia Shen
  • Luca Izzo
  • Mads Nielsen
  • Maher Sahyoun
  • Margarita Bobadilla Gaviria
  • Marina Ganeva
  • Martin Nors Pedersen
  • Mehmet Ramazanoglu
  • Michael Fitzsimmons
  • Miguel Angel Gonzalez
  • Morten Bache
  • Nathan Johnson
  • Oswin Krause
  • Prashant Singh
  • Robert Feidenhansl
  • Seyed Morteza Najibi
  • Shun Yu
  • Silas Ørting
  • Simon Kimber
  • Simon Ward
  • Simone Orioli
  • Stephan Allenspach
  • Steve Aplin
  • Stuart Campbell
  • Stuart Wilkins
  • Thomas Rod
  • Toby Perring
  • Torben Nielsen
  • Troels Petersen
  • Wojciech Potrzebowski
  • Zakieh Ansari
  • Zdenek Matej
The agenda of this meeting is empty