Aug 19 – 23, 2013
Europe/Copenhagen timezone

School Topics

  • Astrophysical Fluid Dynamics
  • MHD Turbulence and Dynamos
  • Kinetic Plasma Processes
  • Multi-scale Plasma Modelling
  • Accretion Disks, Jets, and Winds
  • Planet-Disk Interactions

School Lecturers

  • Axel Brandenburg (Nordita)
  • Klaus Galsgaard (NBI)
  • Rony Keppens (Leuven)
  • Wilhelm Kley (Tuebingen)
  • Andrea Mignone (Torino)
  • Åke Nordlund (NBI)

School Aims and Format

The school will cover basic theoretical aspects and the state-of-the-art in computational astrophysics, emphasizing both the physical foundations and the numerical techniques. The primary lectures will cover fluid dynamics, magnetohydrodynamics (MHD), plasma kinetics, and radiative transfer, as well as modern trends in high performance computing. The program is complemented with exercise tutorials.

School Goals

  • Introduce the students to the fundamental theoretical concepts and numerical techniques in computational astrophysics and provide them with the knowledge and tools to work on some of the most challenging problems in modern astrophysics.

  • Bring together students interested in astrophysical fluid dynamics and computational astrophysics with some of the world’s experts in an environment fostering interactions and exchange of ideas.

  • Encourage the students to continue working in these fields, emphasizing the importance of a multidisciplinary approach to research in these active areas.

European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System

All the students attending the lectures and actively participating in the exercise tutorials will earn a minimum of 2.5 ECTS points. The most ambitious participants will have the possibility to obtain an extra number of ECTS points upon the successful completion of a research project on the subjects of the school.

Financial Assistance

For non-local students some financial assistance will be available. We will provide a small contribution towards local expenses. Accomodation will be provided at the CABINN Scandanavia (Vodroffsvej 55, 1900 Frederiksberg C). Please make sure you fill all the requested fields in the application forms in order to be fully considered for this.

Organizing Committee

  • Jacob Trier Frederiksen
  • Troels Haugbølle
  • Colin McNally
  • Gareth Murphy
  • Martin Pessah

This program is supported by: