Jun 6 – 10, 2022
Europe/Copenhagen timezone



The workshop will focus on non-local thermodynamic equilibrium and non-equilibrium radiation transfer in the context of various interdisciplinary problems in astrophysics, from stellar and exoplanet atmospheres to interstellar matter and supernova, and radiation propagation in accretion and protoplanetary discs. 

Workshop Topics

  • stellar atmospheres
  • exoplanetary atmospheres
  • accretion discs, protoplanetary discs
  • spectral modeling of tidal disruption events
  • supernova NLTE modelling
  • cold interstellar matter

Registration and Abstract Submission

All participants are requested to register by filling out the "Registration" form accessible via the menu on the left of this page. Participants interested in contributing with a talk or electronic poster must also submit an abstract by filling out the "Abstract Submission",  also accessible via the same menu. In order to receive full consideration, all information must be received by November 1st, 2021 at the latest.

Venue and Organizational Aspects

The workshop will take place in The Niels Bohr Institute on Blegdamsvej 17. The lectures will take place in the historic Auditorium A, but a video conferencing platform for remote participants will also be available. The workshop is organized by the Niels Bohr International Academy (NBIA) in collaboration with the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy (MPIA). NBIA will provide infrastructure in the form of discussion rooms to facilitate  collaborations and discussions in smaller groups. A social dinner for all participants will be organized during the course of the workshop. There will be no registration fee.


  • Maria Bergemann (MPIA, NBIA), Chair
  • Clément Bonnerot (NBIA)
  • Troels Haugbølle (NBI, StarPlan)
  • Anders Jerkstrand (Stockholm University)
  • Anders Johansen (GLOBE, StarPlan)
  • Jes Jørgensen (NBI, StarPlan)
  • Daniel Kasen (UC Berkeley)
  • Åke Nordlund (NBI, StarPlan)
  • Martin Pessah (NBIA)
  • James Stone (Princeton, IAS)

Invited Speakers

  • Mats Carlsson (University of Oslo, Norway)
  • Shane Davis (University of Virginia, USA)
  • Kevin Heng (University of Bern, Switzerland)
  • John Hillier (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
  • Kenta Hotokezaka (University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Mika Juvela (University of Helsinki, Finland)
  • Inga Kamp (Kapteyn Institute, The Netherlands)
  • Monika Moscibrodzka (Radboud University, The Netherlands)
  • Abigail Polin (Carnegie Observatories, USA)
  • Nathaniel Roth (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
  • Ekaterina Magg (Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Germany)
  • Floris van der Tak (SRON / U Groningen, The Netherlands)


  • Maria Bergemann (MPIA, NBIA)
  • Martin Pessah (NBIA)


  • Michelle Westergaard <michelle.westergaard@nbi.ku.dk>

This program is supported by

We gratefully acknowledge the support of the Niels Bohr Foundation and the Leon Rosenfeld Fund.